Journal of Proceedings Quorum Court Special Meeting January 3, 2023

The Quorum Court met in a special meeting on Tuesday, January 3, 2023, to set the time, place, and dates of the Quorum Court meetings for the years of 2023 and 2024. The purpose of the meeting was to also adopt the Procedural Guide for the Arkansas County Quorum Court meetings. Press notice had been sent with one member of the press present. The meeting was held in the Eastern District Courtroom in Berryville. The meeting was audio recorded and Deputy Prosecutor Steven Simmons acting as County Attorney was present.

Newly sworn in JP Hunter Rivett led the group in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance, Judge David Writer, presiding over his first meeting, called the meeting to order at 5:03pm. County Clerk Connie Doss was asked to do roll call. All Justices were present except Roger Hall. The Quorum Court members are: JPs Jack Deaton, Bruce Wright, Harrie Farrow, Hunter Rivett, Craig Hicks, Matt Phillips, Kellie Matt, Roger Hall, Jerry King, and John Howerton. There were no changes to the agenda, public comment, or miscellaneous.

JP John Howerton made a motion to approve the Ordinance that was the topic of the special meeting. JP Jack Deaton seconded the motion. JP Deaton then made a motion making the meetings at the Courthouse, third Tuesdays of the month at 5:00 PM. JP Craig Hicks seconded the motion. Discussion ensued with JP Harrie Farrow wanting to include verbiage about Roberts Rules of Order. JP Farrow with assistance from Steven Simmons made an amended motion of the meetings to be held in the Eastern District Courthouse/Courtroom on the third Tuesdays of the month at 5:00 PM and adding the adoption of Roberts Rules of Order to the extent non-consistent with State law. JP Craig Hicks seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken to amend the ordinance adding the motion. The vote was unanimous. Discussion then turned to when the next meeting would be. JP Deaton said that the first regular meeting would be January 17, 2023, with County Clerk Connie Doss expressing caution about the quick turn around of getting the January meeting's agenda out and that she would do the best she could to get that accomplished by the Friday deadline. JP Farrow thought that the ordinance dictating the deadline should be amended and it was brought up that this should be discussed at another meeting. With that, Judge Writer called for the vote with all members voting in the affirmative.

In JP Comments, JP Deaton welcomed the new Justices of the Peace with JP Matt Phillips echoing the sentiment. In Judge's comments, Judge Writer said it is a privilege to serve with the Justices. He felt is would be a "great year" and holds the JPs in high esteem. With that, Judge Writer asked for a motion to adjourn which was given by JP Jack Deaton and seconded by JP Matt Phillips. The meeting was adjourned at 5:10 PM.